GHDI logo

The New Federal Republic in Europe (1990)

With an area of approximately 360,000 square kilometers (ca. 139,000 square miles), unified Germany is one Europe’s largest states in terms of territory; with around 82 million inhabitants, it is also the continent’s most populous land. On this map, Bonn is still shown as the capital. Since 1991, however, Berlin has served as the capital of the Federal Republic – a change made in accordance with a Bundestag decision and gradually implemented over the following years. The official transfer of government offices occurred in 1999. Nevertheless, some important ministries (e.g. the Ministry of Defense), state offices, and science, research, and communication operations (including the phone company Deutsche Telekom) still remain in Bonn today.

Please click on print version (below) for a larger version with enhanced resolution.

print version     return to map list previous map      next map

The New Federal Republic in Europe (1990)

IEG-Maps, Institute of European History, Mainz / © A. Kunz, 2004